Current USC and ex-Michigan special teams coordinator John Baxter tweeted that Penn State should have been flagged on Marcus Allen’s blocked field goal, which Grant Haley returned for a touchdown. Baxter was with the Wolverines last season.
Baxter deleted the tweets, but they were captured by 247Sports. He said “the rules clearly state that no player aligned outside the line of scrimmage can jump to block a FG & land on another player.” Allen did land on a Penn State player, but is there an exception to the rule?
Here’s the play.
REPLAY: It's not an overstatement to call it one of the biggest plays in Penn State football history.https://t.co/Bm793LL2Pq
— Derek Levarse (@TLdlevarse) October 23, 2016
Here is the official entry from the NCAA rulebook, pulled by 247Sports.
Leverage, Leaping and Landing
ARTICLE 11. a. No defensive player, in an attempt to gain an advantage, may step, jump or stand on an opponent.
b. No defensive player who runs forward from beyond the neutral zone and leaps from beyond the neutral zone in an obvious attempt to block a field goal or try may land on any player(s).
1. It is not a foul if the player was aligned in a stationary position within one yard of the line of scrimmage when the ball was snapped.
2. It is not a foul if the player leaps from in or behind the neutral zone.
3. It is not a foul if an offensive player initiates contact against the player who leaps.
Allen did appear to leap from behind the neutral zone, so that’s probably why it wasn’t called.