Was it a catch?
That question will be asked on every sports related show you will see on Monday. The catch rule, which has created consistent controversial calls over the years, has reared its ugly head again.
On Sunday, in a battle for the No. 1-seed in the AFC between the New England Patriots and Pittsburgh Steelers, the Steelers were driving while trailing by 3 points with 0:28 remaining. Ben Roethlisberger threw a 9-yard pass to former Penn State tight end Jesse James from the 10-yard line and James — after appearing to have made the catch — reached out the ball to try to score a touchdown.
Unfortunately for James and the Steelers, the ruling on the field was called a touchdown, but led to a review. Did James have control of the ball as it juggled inside the end-zone when he had already broken the plane?
The process of the catch was ruled to have not been fully completed, resulting in an incompletion.
Take a look:
— (@3lone) December 18, 2017
Just two plays later, with 5 seconds left, Roethlisberger chose not to spike the ball and give the Steelers a chance at tying the Patriots with a short field goal and sending the game to overtime. Instead, he attempted a no-huddle play that resulted in a pass being intercepted.
The Patriots won the game 27-24 and are now the top seed in the AFC.
Let the controversy begin.