Stacy Revere/Getty Images
Iowa cornerback Josh Jackson intercepts a pass and returns it for a touchdown against Wisconsin.

Iowa’s high number of NFL combine participants continues to grow

We are tackling the best question supplied by Iowa fans each day. If you’d like to submit a question, tweet to Scott Dochterman here. Look for our Iowa Question of the Day every Monday through Friday. Go here to see all of our previous answers.

ANSWER: Iowa has been well-represented at the NFL Scouting Combine for the last eight years, and this year is a continuation. Five Hawkeyes have been invited to the 2018 NFL Scouting Combine: cornerback Josh Jackson, center James Daniels, linebacker Josey Jewell, running back Akrum Wadley and offensive lineman Sean Welsh. All of them are likely draft picks and probably will be selected in the top five rounds.

The NFL Scouting Combine begins Feb. 27 in Indianapolis.

Five Iowa invitees are the program’s high since 2014, when five Hawkeyes also attended. Since 2010 and counting this year, Iowa has picked up 46 invitations to the combine, and at least five Hawkeyes attended in five different years. Thirty of the 41 players between 2010 and 2017 were drafted by NFL clubs, including 25 in the top five rounds and 11 in the top three rounds.

Here’s a look at which Iowa players have been invited to the NFL Scouting Combine since 2010:

2010 (7) — LB Pat Angerer, T Bryan Bulaga, OL Kyle Calloway, LB A.J. Edds, TE Tony Moeaki, OL Dace Richardson, DB Amari Spievey

2011 (8) — DE Christian Ballard, DE Adrian Clayborn, LB Jeremiha Hunter, DT Karl Klug, TE Allen Reisner, S Tyler Sash, QB Ricky Stanzi, G Julian Vandervelde

2012 (7) — DT Mike Daniels, G Adam Gettis, WR Marvin McNutt, LB Tyler Nielsen, CB Shaun Prater, OL Riley Reiff, OL Markus Zusevics

2013 (2) — DB Micah Hyde, QB James Vandenberg

2014 (5) — OL Conor Boffeli, TE C.J. Fiedorowicz, LB Anthony Hitchens, LB Christian Kirksey, LB James Morris

2015 (4) — DL Carl Davis, OL Andrew Donnal, OL Brandon Scherff, DL Louis Trinca-Pasat

2016 (4) — C Austin Blythe, K Marshall Koehn, DB Jordan Lomax, DE Drew Ott

2017 (4) — QB C.J. Beathard, DB Desmond King, TE George Kittle, DT Jaleel Johnson

2018 (5) — C James Daniels CB Josh Jackson, LB Josey Jewell, RB Akrum Wadley, OL Sean Welsh

Read more Question of the Day answers about the Iowa Hawkeyes here.